Skip to content

Trippin’ in the Winter

December 20, 2013

This past week, I was on the road for work. The trip reminded me, once again, why travel during the winter can be so … well … harrowing is a good term.

The trip started in Portland, headed to San Jose, then to Los Angeles before reaching Boston and eventually Portland again.

By circumnavigating the country, I managed to experience all the weather Global Warming has to offers.

IMG_1950

Sunrise over Los Angeles Airport. It hit 85 degrees the day that I touched down in the city.

IMG_1955

The day I left, the forecast was for the temperature to hit 80 degrees.

IMG_1973

Less than six hours later, I landed in Boston, where it had been snowing all day and the weather was the low 20s. The wind chill brought the temp down to 9 degrees.

IMG_1980

The “river view” from my hotel room. It took us 45 minutes to get to the hotel from the airport. If we hadn’t hitched a ride in a van going downtown, it would have taken longer because there were no cabs to be found at the airport.

IMG_1985

The river view by the next morning. Yeah, that would be ice on top of the river.

From → Random Beauty

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment